The City of Pueblo government has a Sales Tax division, where you will find licensing forms for business, business lists, sales tax training information, Tax and Licensing Ordinances, and Sales/Use Tax forms.
The Colorado Sales Tax License is for state sales tax that the Department of Revenue collects and distributes back to local governments. For more information about which license to apply for and to apply visit the Colorado Department of Revenue Taxation Division.
Below is a link that you can fill out with the State of Colorado for business tax concerns:
Business tax help, such as but not limited to, sales tax or wage withholding licenses, sales tax exemptions and business filing questions. Contact the Colorado Secretary of State for concerns regarding a trade name or business license.
Colorado Business Tax Help- Click one of these websites located with the Colorado Department of Revenue for Business Tax Help:
Or one of the tax guides:
Contact the Colorado Secretary of State for concerns regarding a trade name or business license.
What is an EIN?
Do you Need an EIN?
How do I apply for an EIN?
Applying for an Employer Identification Number (EIN) is a free service offered by the Internal Revenue Service. Beware of websites on the Internet that charge for this free service.
All EIN applications (mail, fax, electronic) must disclose the name and Taxpayer Identification Number (SSN, ITIN, or EIN) of the true principal officer, general partner, grantor, owner or trustor. This individual or entity, which the IRS will call the “responsible party,” controls, manages, or directs the applicant entity and the disposition of its funds and assets. Unless the applicant is a government entity, the responsible party must be an individual (i.e., a natural person), not an entity.
The Internet EIN application is the preferred method for customers to apply for and obtain an EIN. Once the application is completed, the information is validated during the online session, and an EIN is issued immediately. The online application process is available for all entities whose principal business, office or agency, or legal residence (in the case of an individual), is located in the United States or U.S. Territories.
What is DORA?
DORA is comprised of ten distinct divisions, plus the Executive Director's Office which houses the Colorado Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform. Each division is charged with administering a number of programs, and most house one or more Boards and Commissions made up of appointed members of the public that oversee a large variety of subjects and make a wide range of decisions affecting the day-to-day lives of Coloradans. The divisions are as followed:
Executive Director's Office (EDO)-DORA's Executive Director's Office provides leadership and support to DORA’s ten divisions.
Colorado Office of Policy, Research, and Regulatory Reform (COPRRR)-The Colorado Office of Policy, Research & Regulatory Reform (COPRRR) reviews proposed regulatory programs to determine if they are needed, and it also reviews existing programs and functions of government to ensure they are necessary, fair, effective and efficient.
Colorado Civil Right Division (CCRD)-The Colorado Civil Rights Division is charged with enforcing Colorado’s anti-discrimination laws in the areas of employment, housing, and public accommodations.
Division of Banking (DOB)- The Colorado Division of Banking protects the public interest and preserves public trust in the Colorado banking industry by regulating the business of state-chartered commercial banks and trust companies, state-licensed money transmitters, and by enforcing the Public Deposit Protection Act.
Division of Financial Services (DFS)-The Division of Financial Services works to protect public interest and preserve public trust by regulating the business of state-chartered credit unions, savings and loan associations and the financial activities of life care institutions under its supervision.
Division of Insurance (DOI)-The Division of Insurance regulates the insurance industry and assists consumers and other stakeholders with insurance issues, to ensure that insurance companies, as well as their agents, are following the law.
Division of Professions and Occupations (DPO)-The Division of Professions and Occupations provides customer protection by licensing over 50 diverse professions, occupations and businesses in Colorado.
Division of Real Estate (DRE)-The Division of Real Estate protects real estate consumers by licensing and enforcing laws for real estate brokers, mortgage brokers and appraisers.
Division of Securities (DOS)-The Division of Securities protects investors and maintains public confidence in the securities markets while avoiding unreasonable burdens on participants in the capital markets.
Office of the Utility Consumer Advocate (formerly Office of Consumer Counsel)-The Office of the Utility Consumer Advocate represents the interests of residential, small business and agricultural consumers before the Public Utilities Commission.
Public Utilities Commission (PUC)-The Public Utilities Commission serves the public interest by effectively regulating utilities and facilities so that the people of Colorado receive safe, reliable and reasonably-priced services consistent with the economic, environmental and social values of our state.
What is Business Liability Insurance?
Business Liability Insurance protects owner and business against liability resulting from non-performance of any of the products sold. Also known as Casualty insurance, it insures against injury or damage caused by the activities of the business.
Both the business owner and its customers can be protected through business liability insurance. If a client suffers damages through actions or services of the owner or an employee of the business, this type of insurance will protect the owner's personal assets, the assets of the business, and pay for costs of defending against the claim. It also provides that a customer or client who has suffered damages will be adequately compensated. Liability insurance provides a business with financial protection in the case of a claim or a lawsuit.
Six Common types of business insurance
After you purchase insurance that's required by law, you can find insurance to cover any other business risk. As a general rule, you should insure against things you wouldn’t be able to pay for on your own.
Speak to insurance agents to find out what kinds of coverage makes sense for your business, and compare terms and prices to find the best deal for you. Here are six common kinds of business insurance to look for:
| Insurance type | Who it's for | What it does |
|---|---|---|
| General liability insurance | Any business | This coverage protects against financial loss as the result of bodily injury, property damage, medical expenses, libel, slander, defending lawsuits, and settlement bonds or judgments. |
| Product liability insurance | Businesses that manufacture, wholesale, distribute, and retail a product | This coverage protects against financial loss as a result of a defective product that causes injury or bodily harm. |
| Professional liability insurance | Businesses that provide services to customers | This coverage protects against financial loss as a result of malpractice, errors, and negligence. |
| Commercial property insurance | Businesses with a significant amount of property and physical assets | This coverage protects your business against loss and damage of company property due to a wide variety of events such as fire, smoke, wind and hail storms, civil disobedience and vandalism. |
| Home-based business insurance | Businesses that are run out of the owner’s personal home | Coverage that’s added to homeowner’s insurance as a rider can offer protection for a small amount of business equipment and liability coverage for third-party injuries. |
| Business owner’s policy | Most small business owners, but especially home-based business owners | A business owner’s policy is an insurance package that combines all of the typical coverage options into one bundle. They simplify the insurance buying process and can save you money. |
-U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)-Get business insurance
National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)- provides expertise, data, and analysis for insurance commissioners to effectively regulate the industry and protect consumers. Founded in 1871, the U.S. standard-setting organization is governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and five U.S. territories to coordinate regulation of multistate insurers.
DORA-Small Business Insurance Guide- While businesses count on insurance to protect the investment in time, money and other resources, consumers can also be protected when businesses are insured. Should anything go wrong with goods and services, certain insurance may compensate people who interact with a business.
There are many choices for business owners to consider when selecting insurance. A licensed insurance agent or broker may offer a package that covers many small business needs, or design a policy with coverage designed for the particular business. It is important for the business owner to know what the policy includes.
